What Syrups Are Vegan At Starbucks? (Completed List)

What Syrups Are Vegan At Starbucks

Have you ever asked yourself or your friend what syrups are vegan at Starbucks or what are the best vegan drinks? Well, you are at the perfect place to find the answer to such a question.

Going vegan doesn’t mean you have to give up some of your favorite guilty pleasures, like a Starbucks drink.

Maybe in the past, you’ve heard it’s hard to find a vegan drink at Starbucks, but this is no longer the case! Starbucks has some great vegan options, including some of their syrups. 

So, what syrups are vegan at Starbucks? There are around ten different vegan syrups at Starbucks, including:

  • Almond syrup,
  • Caramel syrup, 
  • Sugar-free caramel syrup,
  • Gingerbread syrup,
  • Hazelnut syrup, 
  • Peach syrup,
  • Simple syrup,
  • Sugar-free hazelnut syrup,
  • Toffee-nut syrup, and
  • Vanilla Syrup. 

In this article, we will discuss all of the vegan syrup options at Starbucks, non-vegan ingredients to avoid, and present some of our favorite vegan drinks. 

Which Vegan Syrups Are Available At Starbucks? 

If you’re looking to spruce up your next coffee order but want to make sure you are only ordering something vegan, we’ve compiled a list of syrups from Starbucks that are completely vegan. 

The ten vegan options at Starbucks include: 

  • Almond syrup,
  • Caramel syrup, 
  • Sugar-free caramel syrup,
  • Gingerbread syrup,
  • Hazelnut syrup, 
  • Sugar-free hazelnut syrup,
  • Macadamia syrup,
  • Mocha syrup,
  • Peach syrup,
  • Simple syrup,
  • Toffee-nut syrup, and
  • Vanilla Syrup. 

All of these syrups, besides the gingerbread syrup, are available year-around. The gingerbread syrup is generally only available during the holiday season, so don’t forget to ask for it while it’s in. 

Besides their syrups, Starbucks also has a few other items you can add to your drinks that are vegan-friendly as well. 

Read also: Is Starbucks Toffee Nut Syrup Vegan? (Best Vegan Drinks)

What Starbucks Drink Additions Are Vegan? 

While everyone loves a good flavored syrup, sometimes this doesn’t exactly satisfy our craving. Luckily, many of Starbucks’ other items that can be added to drinks are also vegan. 

Some of the most common vegan drink additives include:

  • Mocha sauce, 
  • Strawberry puree sauce, 
  • Vanilla bean powder, 
  • Matcha tea blend, and 
  • Chocolate malt powder. 

All of these can be added to any coffee, frappuccino, or hot chocolate and can definitely provide you with a more complex flavor. 

In addition, all of the Starbucks refresher bases, such as the Kiwi Star Fruit or Dragon Fruit refreshers, are all vegan.

You can add these to lemonade or tea for an amped up flavor, or just order the refresher as is. 

Read also: How Many Types Of Coffee Does Starbucks Have  (Completed List)

How Do I Make Sure The Drink I’m Ordering Is Vegan? 

Our first tip when ordering a drink from Starbucks that contains milk is to request a vegan milk replacement.

While this does cost more in most cases, it is necessary to ensure your drink is made vegan-friendly. 

Starbucks carries the following non-dairy milks in their locations: 

  • Almond, 
  • Coconut, 
  • Oat, and 
  • Soy. 

Next, you need to make sure the drink you’re ordering doesn’t include any non-vegan items. This might be the case if you’re ordering a flavored coffee or frappuccino, so you should always double check. 

Which Starbucks Ingredients Are NOT Vegan? 

The following ingredients at Starbucks are not vegan and should be avoided: 

  • Pumpkin spice,
  • Caramel Brulee,
  • Caramel and dark caramel sauce/drizzle,
  • Chai mix,
  • Cinnamon-dolce topping,
  • Cloud foam,
  • Java chips,
  • Honey blend,
  • Protein powder,
  • Sweet cream,
  • White-chocolate mocha sauce, and
  • Whipped cream.

Some of these items are pretty obvious, like whipped cream and java chips, however, the chai tea concentrate might surprise you!

But, the Starbucks blend chai tea concentrate includes honey, which is why it is included on our list here. 

Read also: Is Starbucks Caramel Brulee Latte Vegan (Vegan Drinks + More

What Vegan Drinks Can I Order At Starbucks? 

If you want a vegan drink without having to make a bunch of customizations and risk a non-vegan item being left in, we have some great recommendations for you! 

Starbucks has carried their refreshers for a few years now, all of which are vegan.

They also carry a selection of lemonade, lemonade-iced teas, and matcha drinks that are vegan as well. 

However, recently Starbucks decided to release some delicious shaken espresso non-dairy drinks that fans have been raving about.

These new drinks include: 

  • Iced Brown Sugar Oat Milk Shaken Espresso, 
  • Iced Chocolate Almond Milk Shaken Espresso, 
  • Iced Toasted Vanilla Oat Milk Shaken Espresso, and
  • Honey Oat Milk Latte.

In our opinion, all of these are delicious options and can be ordered as-is without any hassle! 

But, if you’re feeling like taking things up a notch and want to try out some customizations, we have some other options for you! 

What Are Some Drinks I Can Easily Customize To Be Vegan At Starbucks?

All Starbucks coffee drinks, whether iced or hot, can be easily customized into a vegan drink. 

Take the Iced Cinnamon Dolce Latte for example. If you want this drink veganized, simply order it with your choice of non-dairy milk, omit the whipped cream and cinnamon dolce topping, and that’s it! 

Really, it just takes an understanding of which ingredients at Starbucks are vegan and which aren’t, once you know that you can add and subtract ingredients to your heart’s content. 

Are Any Secret-Menu Items Vegan? 

I’m sure we’ve all heard of the elusive Starbucks secret menu. If you’re feeling sad you won’t get to experiment with any of these fun customizations due to your vegan lifestyle, think again! 

Many secret menu items are easy to customize vegan. 

For example: 

  • Chocolate Turtle Latte, you can get this by ordering a latte with non-dairy milk, and a pump of toffee and mocha syrup;
  • Captain Crunch Frappuccino, you can order this by asking for a Strawberry Creme Frappuccino made with non-dairy milk, and a pump each of hazelnut, toffee nut, and caramel syrup; 
  • Nutella Frappuccino, you can get this by ordering a mocha frappuccino with non-dairy milk, adding two pumps of hazelnut syrup, and omitting the whipped cream; and 
  • Mojito Refresher, just asks for a cool lime refresher and add a pump each of simple syrup and peppermint syrup. 


From their many vegan syrups, sauces, and ingredients, it has never been easier to order a vegan drink at Starbucks.

It is clear Starbucks is embracing the influx of people choosing to be vegan by their new vegan drink offerings. 

Struggling to order a vegan coffee is a thing of the past, and you should easily be able to find a delicious vegan drink to your liking at Starbucks.





Lindsey graduated with an MBA in 2009. Since then, Lindsey has worked in the retail and consumer service industry as a manager, advisor, and marketer. Lindsey is also the head writer and Co-founder of Rvandplaya.com. Lindsey is based in Morgantown, West Virginia.

Recent Posts

error: Content is protected !!