Are Granola Bars Kosher for Passover? (Oats + Ingredients)


Are Granola Bars Kosher for Passover

Do you know if Granola bars are Kosher for Passover? Well, you are at the perfect place to find the answer to such a question.

Granola bars are quick and easy to grab snacks for those on the go, and with so many great flavors and ingredients, just about anyone can enjoy them.

If you follow a Kosher diet, you must be wondering, are granola bars kosher for Passover? Many granola bars on the market today are not Passover-approved. While they may be labeled as certified kosher products, that doesn’t mean you can eat them during this time since all 5 grains are forbidden. However, some brands are labeled okay for Passover, and there are plenty of recipes that you can make yourself. 

You have come to the right place if you are on the market for some delicious granola bars perfect for Passover.

In this article, we will discuss what brands of granola bars are certified kosher and which are not and what to look for when picking out these little snacks for your family. 

Are Granola Bars Kosher for Passover? 

Many granola bars on the market these days have started making their products kosher certified, meaning they were inspected and approved by an Orthodox Union and deemed only to use Halah-approved ingredients and are processed with kosher-friendly utensils and equipment.

However, this doesn’t necessarily mean all kosher foods are okay to enjoy during Passover. The rules about what you can and cannot eat are much more strict during this time and typically restricts anyone from eating ingredients made from the “5 grains”, wheat, spelt, barley, rye, and oats.

Not to worry, though, for anyone who loves their granola bars, there are still options out there for you.

You can enjoy matzoh granola during Passover, which is a flatbread traditionally made from water and flour and makes a great base for delicious granola bars when mixed with the right ingredients.

Read also: Are Built Bars Kosher (Quality, Nutrition Facts + Reviews)

What Granola Bar Ingredients are Passover Approved? 

When you are out shopping around for granola bars for Passover, there are a few different things you can look for when reading the labels. 

  • Almond Meal
  • Dried Fruits
  • Flaxseed
  • Rice
  • Fennel seeds
  • Soybeans
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Sunflower Seeds
  • Milk (If labeled Passover approved)
  • Most nuts (if still in the shell do not need to state Passover approved)
  • Cocoa (some do not recognize cocoa beans as actual beans, making them okay during this time.)
  • Shredded coconut

Because the rules will look very different depending on which religious sect you belong to and your ethnicity.

However, they all agree on the idea you must avoid the 5-grains.

What are the Brands of Granola Bars that are Kosher for Passover?

If you are on the market for some excellent granola bar options for Passover, there are quite a few companies out there that are labeled kosher and ideal for Passover snacks.

Some brands include Made Good, Purley Elizabeth, and Nut House Granola Company. 

You can also find kosher granola bar lines made by the Clif Bar company, General Mills (Nature Valley), and others; just look for the OU Passover approved stamp. 

Read also: Are One Bars Kosher? (Protein Bars – The Truth!)

Where to Find Passover Granola Bars

It used to be difficult finding granola bars that were Passover approved and made from quality ingredients that followed the strict guidelines that have been in place for decades.

However, these days it isn’t as rough as it once was, and many companies will sell seasonal products made just during Passover. 

Because so many brands are jumping on board to produce a product for these eight specific days, you can easily find kosher, Passover-approved bars on most store shelves in the specialty diet sections or online through specific brand websites, like those listed above, or on Amazon. 

What is the Difference Between Eating Kosher Granola Bars and Eating Passover Kosher Granola Bars?

During Passover, you still have to eat kosher-approved foods and ingredients. However, during these eight days in April, you are strictly forbidden to eat anything that is chametz or hametz, which means leavened.

This means any agent that can make the dough rise, such as yeast, typically through fermentation. This eliminates the five main grains wheat, spelt, barley, rye, and oats.

Wheat and oats (which are most commonly used in granola bars) and the other grains may become chametz when placed into water, completely restricting the ability to consume these during Passover, even though you could have them as a kosher snack at any other time of the year. 

When looking for Passover approved granola bars look for the label OU-P; this will help you sort out your options much quicker. 

Can You Make Your Own Passover Granola Bars?

Absolutely. One of the best ways to enjoy granola bars during Passover is simply by making them up yourself.

There are tons of great recipes available online that provide step-by-step instructions, and some with videos that will help you create amazing bars straight from your own kitchen. 

The best part about making them yourself is the peace of mind all ingredients are kosher and Passover-friendly, and you also have control over the environment where they are created, as well as the foods put into them.

This allows you only to make products you will enjoy or that your family will eat. 

Read also: Are Fiber One Bars Kosher? (Snacks Bars – Nobody Is Talking About!)

Summing Things Up

There are quite a few companies out there that have Passover-friendly, kosher granola bars that taste amazing and are full of healthy and quality ingredients your whole family will love.

However, it is crucial you read the ingredients before purchasing any products marked as kosher since not all kosher products are Passover approved. 

References

https://oukosher.org/passover/food-items/

https://www.chicagojewishnews.com/is-granola-kosher-for-passover/#5

Lindsey

Lindsey graduated with an MBA in 2009. Since then, Lindsey has worked in the retail and consumer service industry as a manager, advisor, and marketer. Lindsey is also the head writer and Co-founder of Rvandplaya.com. Lindsey is based in Morgantown, West Virginia.

Recent Posts

error: Content is protected !!
SAVE 25% AT JAMES ALLEN