Do you know if Built bars are kosher? this is one of the questions our readers ask a lot. Well, we´ve got you covered.
While Built Bars are a significant health bar for many people, Unfortunately, Built bars are not Kosher. If you follow a Kosher diet, are vegetarian, or are vegan, the gelatin used to prepare these bars will keep them from being your go-to snack.
Although these bars are not an option for anyone eating Kosher, they are full of healthy ingredients that will make them a great choice for almost any other type of diet.
So, let’s take a moment to discuss what makes these bars not Kosher and the ingredients and health benefits they do contain
Table of Contents
Are Built Bars Kosher?
Unfortunately, those who follow a strict Kosher diet cannot use built bars as a source of high protein to take before or after their workouts because the main ingredient used to help give the bar their shape and spongy form, holding the bar together is gelatin.
As many of us know, gelatin is made from cartilage from a variety of different animals. This collagen is ground up into a fine powdery substance and becomes rubbery when moistened, giving food items a springy spongy sensation.
Because Kosher practices do not allow for the consumption of animals, specific animal parts, or ways in which an animal is slaughtered, gelatin is not considered a Kosher item and therefore can not be ingested on a Kosher diet.
Unfortunately, the texture and foamy structure gelatin provide Built Bars cannot be created using any other ingredients, so the ingredient stays.
Does Built Bar Make Kosher Options?
No, at this time, Built Bar Does not make any form of their product with all Kosher-free ingredients. If you are on a Kosher diet, you will have to look elsewhere.
What are The Main Ingredients in Built Bars?
The main ingredients you will find in all of Built Bars products are Whey Protein, Gelatin, and the ingredients used for flavor, typically including peanuts, chocolate, or fruit.
These ingredients on their own (aside from the gelatin.) are mostly kosher-friendly.
Whey protein is a Kosher product because it is an ingredient pulled from milk and cheese in a Kosher-approved process. While whey is made from dairy, the way it is extracted is Kosher-friendly.
Who Should Avoid Eating Built Bars?
Anyone following a vegetarian or vegan diet should avoid built bars. Besides the use of dairy in these products, these bars also contain cheeses, eggs, or chocolate (depending on the options you choose), making them not vegan or vegetarian approved.
If you follow a Kosher diet (Halal foods), are sensitive to dairy, or have a peanut allergy, Built Bars are a poor choice of snack for you.
Read also: Are Pure Protein Bars Kosher? (The Truth!)
Can You Eat Built Bars if You Have Diabetes?
Aside from the restrictions listed above, Built Bars are a great choice for pretty much any other diet, including diabetes.
These bars are high in protein, low in calories, low in carbs, and low in sugar, making them a safe item to store away as a snack or quick pick me up when having a sugar low.
Are Built Bars Good for You?
Although Build Bars are not good for a Kosher diet, they can be a good fit for someone trying to lose weight or anyone looking for access to a healthy meal replacement option to grab during their busy day.
Let us take a quick look into the nutrition factors in each built bar to explain why these can be a good choice for many people.
- Total Fat: 2.5 grams
- Saturated Fat 1.5 grams
- Trans Fat 0 grams
- Cholesterol 2.5 milligrams
- Sodium 45 mg
- Total Carbohydrates 18 grams
- Dietary Fiber 6 grams
- Sugars 4 grams
- Protein 17 grams
- Vitamin D 0
- Calcium 90 milligrams
- Iron 1 milligram
- Potassium 269 milligram
Taking a look at the information above, you can see that this snack will only add 4 grams of sugar to your daily allowance and less than 3 grams of fat; this is ideal for all types of diet and can help you stay healthy and maintain balanced nutrition.
Can You Buy Protein Bars That Are Kosher?
Yes, there are many brands out there that sell Kosher-friendly protein bars, including Truth Bars, GoMacro MacroBar, and No Cow High Protein Bars, to name a few.
However, for many people, it may be a little easier to get a Kosher protein bar you can trust by simply making them yourself.
There are many recipes online that offer ideas for those following Kosher diets and easy ways to put together delicious protein bars, cookies, packs, etc., with the best ingredients, protein, and nutrition, without risking the chance of eating something you shouldn’t.
What are Ingredients to Avoid or Add-in Protine Bars When Eating Kosher?
If you are looking for a protein bar that doesn’t specifically state whether or not it is Kosher, you can look at the pack’s ingredients list to get a good idea of whether or not it is something you can have.
As previously discussed, you can not have jello or gelatin when eating Kosher; you also can not have raspberries or blackberries, certain vanilla extracts, or fruits and vegetables containing haram ingredients, this can be a little difficult when looking to purchase an item off the shelf at your local grocery store.
Summing Things Up
While Built Bars are known for their fantastic taste and great health benefits, they are not Kosher-friendly, so anyone that follows a Kosher diet will need to look elsewhere for a quick pick-me-up protein bar.
Here are some of my favorite services, products, and Stores
There are affiliate links, so if you do decide to use any of them, I´ll earn a small commission. But in all honesty, these are the exact what I use and recommend to everyone, even my own family.
To see all my of most up-to-date recommendations, check out this resource that I made for you!
Have you ever asked yourself or your friend if Pure protein bars are kosher? Look no more. We´ve got you covered. So, are Pure Protein Bars Kosher? Pure protein bars are not certified kosher...
Have you ever asked yourself or your friend are Fiber One Bars Kosher? Look no more. We´ve got you covered. So, are Fiber One Bars Kosher? No, all Fiber One Bars are not Kosher. They used to all...