Subway Gluten-Free Bread? – Allergen Menu (Secrets You´ll Never Imagine)


subway gluten free bread

Have you ever asked yourself or your friend if Subway has Gluten Free bread? Well, you are at the perfect place to find the answer to such a question.

If you are gluten-free, it can be difficult to find sandwich shops with gluten-free bread and options.

Luckily, there are gluten-free options and the number of stores that are offering them is increasing. You just have to know which stores offer gluten-free bread.

So, does Subway have gluten-free bread? Yes, some Subway locations carry gluten-free bread, but it is not carried at all locations. You will have to ask each individual location you go to if they have gluten-free bread because there is no way to learn on Subway’s website.

To learn more about Subway’s gluten-free bread, keep reading.

Does Subway Carry Gluten-Free Bread?

Subway sells several types of bread that are baked in-house. The bread is fresh, delicious, and, unfortunately, packed with gluten. However, some select Subway locations carry gluten-free bread for their customers.

Subway is a franchise that allows each of the franchise owners to decide whether or not they carry gluten-free bread. As a result, not all Subway locations carry it.

To make the situation slightly more inconvenient, Subway does not have an online finder to match you to locations that carry this bread.

Instead, you will have to visit or call ahead to find out if individual locations carry gluten-free bread. The good news is that many locations today carry it due to its popularity.

Still, call individual stores ahead to learn if they carry the bread you need.

Read also: Does Panera Have Gluten Free Bread (Allergen Menu, Items)

What’s In Subway’s Gluten-Free Bread?

The locations that carry gluten-free bread at Subway get their bread specially made. Most bread at Subway is baked inside the restaurant and comes in 6-inch and 12-inch options. This is not the case for the gluten-free bread.

Instead, Subway’s gluten-free bread is specially made and packaged at a gluten-free facility.

That bread is then shipped to the select Subway restaurants wrapped to help prevent cross-contamination. This bread only comes in a 6-inch option.

Subway does not outright discuss what’s in their bread, but many resources site Subway’s gluten-free bread is having the following ingredients:

  • Cornstarch
  • Yeast
  • Guar gum and enzyme
  • Sodium acid pyrophosphate
  • Baking soda
  • Monocalcium phosphate
  • Sugar
  • Carbohydrate gum
  • Natural flavor
  • Modified cornstarch
  • Distilled monoglycerides
  • Rice bran and germ
  • Salt
  • Tapioca starch
  • Egg whites
  • Pectin
  • Palm oil
  • Xanthan gum

Allergen Menu

Even in Subway’s allergen menu items that are “completely gluten-free”, there is still a chance that in the food preparation process, your meal has come in contact with one or more gluten carriers due to a mistake, poor cleaning of utensils, or other circumstances. 

What Else Is Gluten-Free At Subway?

In addition to the gluten-free bread, there are quite a few other items at Subway that are considered gluten-free.

Most of the meats, for example, are gluten-free by nature. However, many of the gluten-free ingredients are subject to cross-contamination.

Here are some of the other ingredients that are considered gluten-free at Subway:

  • Chicken, grilled with buffalo sauce
  • Turkey breast, oven-roasted
  • Bacon strips
  • Ham (Black Forest)
  • Tuna salad
  • Pastrami
  • Pepperoni
  • Steak
  • Spicy Italian meats
  • Italian BMT Meats (ham, pepperoni, salami)
  • Egg white omelet patty
  • Veggie Patty
  • Oven-roasted chicken patty
  • Grilled chicken
  • Egg omelet patty
  • Rotisserie-style chicken
  • Genoa salami
  • Cold cut combo meats
  • Broccoli and cheddar soup
  • Most veggies and cheese

How To Order Gluten-Free Meals At Subway

Because Subway carries gluten-free bread and ingredients, the restaurant is an option for individuals who are avoiding gluten.

However, it’s important to know how to order gluten-free items at a location like Subway. Here are some tips for ordering gluten-free meals at Subway based on your own needs.

How To Order If You Are Just Avoiding Gluten

In the case that you just don’t want to consume gluten but aren’t worried about cross-contamination, Subway can be a great restaurant for you. All you need to do is find a location that sells gluten-free bread.

You can call around and ask your local Subway locations if they carry what you are looking for.

Finding the gluten-free bread is the most difficult part of the process. Once you do that, you are in the clear. Whenever you find a location that sells gluten-free bread, select sandwiches that have other gluten-free ingredients.

Luckily, most of the meats and additions are gluten-free.

How To Order If You Have Health Conditions like Celiac

If you have a serious medical condition like celiac disease, it’s best to avoid a place like Subway altogether. Even though some locations carry gluten-free bread and ingredients, it’s difficult to prevent cross-contamination.

The bread itself is often protected from cross-contamination due to its packaging. However, the meats and other ingredients are not.

If you cannot be exposed to gluten contamination, you should not eat at Subway, even locations that have gluten-free bread.

That being said, we understand that sometimes you might find yourself in a situation that requires you to eat at a place like Subway.

When that’s the case, here are some tips to help you order at Subway and minimize the chances of gluten contamination:

  • Call ahead of time to ensure they have gluten-free bread at the location you are visiting.
  • Express the severity of your allergen. Even though it isn’t an allergen, use the word “allergy” since restaurant workers understand what this means.
  • Request the staff to change their gloves, wipe down all surfaces, and use a completely fresh wrapper before making your meal.
  • Request ingredients that are not contaminated from another source, such as ingredients from a refrigerator in the back.
  • Request for a clean knife for cutting your sandwich or request for the sandwich not to be cut.
  • Watch the entire prep and sandwich creation process closely to ensure that they are following your request as closely as possible.
  • Don’t order Subway for pickup or delivery.

What Are Alternatives To Subway With Gluten-Free Options?

Subway is not the only store that carries gluten-free bread. Jersey Mike’s is arguably the only sandwich shop comparable to Subway that offers gluten-free options.

They are better suited to prevent cross-contamination. For this reason, we recommend Jersey Mike’s over Subway.

Final Thoughts

Once again, some Subway locations carry gluten-free bread, but not all. Contact individual store locations beforehand to see if your local Subway carries this bread.

Unfortunately, the locations that carry gluten-free bread do not always offer proper sandwich-making for individuals worried about gluten contamination.

If you are worried about cross-contamination, it’s best to avoid Subway altogether and instead eat at places like Jersey Mike’s.


Here are some of my favorite services, products, and Stores

There are affiliate links, so if you do decide to use any of them, I´ll earn a small commission. But in all honesty, these are the exact what I use and recommend to everyone, even my own family.

To see all my of most up-to-date recommendations, check out this resource that I made for you!

References

https://www.goodforyouglutenfree.com/subway-gluten-free/

Lindsey

Lindsey graduated with an MBA in 2009. Since then, Lindsey has worked in the retail and consumer service industry as a manager, advisor, and marketer. Lindsey is also the head writer and Co-founder of Rvandplaya.com. Lindsey is based in Morgantown, West Virginia.

Recent Posts

error: Content is protected !!
SAVE 25% AT JAMES ALLEN