Are Wikinger Hot Dogs Gluten Free? (Answered!)

are wikinger hot dogs gluten free

People ask, are Wikinger hot dogs gluten free?

Even though the main ingredient in any hot dog is meat, many hot dog brands are not gluten free. Instead, they include binders and other ingredients that include gluten or are at risk of gluten cross-contamination.

If you need to avoid gluten, you might be wondering if Wikinger Hot Dogs are gluten free.

If you look through the list of ingredients in Wikinger Hot Dogs, you will find that there are no outright gluten-containing ingredients. However, the product does not market itself as being gluten free. If you have a serious gluten allergy, you should be careful before eating Wikinger Hot Dogs as a result.

There’s a lot more to know about Wikinger Hot Dogs and their ingredients, including gluten. Keep reading for a full picture of these hot dogs.

Are Wikinger Hot Dogs Gluten Free?

It can be a bit difficult to answer whether or not Wikinger Hot Dogs are gluten free. On the one hand, there are no gluten-containing ingredients on the ingredients list of these various hot dog types.

On the other hand, Wikinger Hot Dogs do not have any gluten free certifications or labels, which can cause one to wonder if their products really are gluten free.

Looking solely at the ingredients on the back of the jar, Wikinger Hot Dogs are gluten free. This applies to most of their Bockwurst Style in Brine Hot Dogs. It also applies to their Premium Bockwurst Sausages and Party Sausages.

For someone who has celiac or another serious gluten condition, just trusting the ingredients on the back of the jar might not be enough.

Because the product is not certified gluten free, there is a possibility that the sausages include gluten cross-contamination.

Read also: Are Ball Park Hot Dogs Gluten Free? (Finally Answered!)

Wikinger Hot Dogs Ingredients

To fully understand the ingredients within your Wikinger Hot Dogs, let’s take a look at each one of these ingredients one by one.

When breaking down these ingredients, we specifically looked at the 5 Hot Dogs/250g Jar, but the ingredients are almost identical throughout all of the products.


Wikinger Hot Dogs Include mechanically separated poultry and pork meat. For the 5 Hot Dogs/250g Jar, the meat is 40% poultry and 38% pork.

The hot dogs also include soy protein. This is a pretty standard protein concoction for commercially produced hot dogs.


For further flavoring, Wikinger Hot Dogs includes salt, spice extracts, sugar, and spices. Unfortunately, they do not list exactly which spices are used in this concoction with the exception of celery.

Occasionally, gluten can be found in hot dog spices, but it’s unclear if these spices contain gluten.


Wikinger Hot Dogs Have a number of preservatives, stabilizers, and antioxidants. We won’t bore you with all the technicalities, but we researched each of these ingredients, and all of them are gluten free.

These ingredients just help to stabilize the hot dogs so that they have the right color, texture, and longevity for commercial purposes.


Based on the company’s own allergy advice, the two main allergens confirmed inside this food are soybean and celery.

There may also be traces of mustard. Fortunately, gluten is not mentioned in the allergy advice section, which means it’s unlikely that gluten is in the spices, but we don’t want to rule out anything.


With these ingredients in mind, gluten could possibly be in the spices section. Some hot dogs have gluten-containing spices, but we do not know if this is the case for Wikinger Hot Dogs.

That does not even include gluten contamination that could have happened to the meat during processing.

Do Wikinger Hot Dogs Protect Against Cross-Contamination?

Unfortunately, we are not sure if the company protects against gluten cross-contamination. Gluten cross-contamination happens very easily, and companies must go to extreme lengths to prevent it.

Because Wikinger Hot Dogs are not certified gluten free, it is possible that gluten contamination happens during the processing time.

What Are Gluten-Free Hot dog Brands?

Since we cannot officially confirm whether or not Wikinger Hot Dogs are gluten free, you might want to consider other brands that are gluten free.

Here’s a list of other hot dog brands you can safely consume without worrying about any gluten contamination:

All of these brands contain fewer than five parts per million of gluten, allowing them to be certified gluten free by the National Celiac Association.

They also protect against gluten cross-contamination, further ensuring you are fully protected from any gluten being in your hot dogs.

Should I Eat Wikinger Hot Dogs If I Can’t Eat Gluten?

Whether or not you should eat Wikinger Hot Dogs is ultimately up to you. Because gluten is not outright used in the hot dogs, you can probably eat these hot dogs if you only have a gluten intolerance. These hot dogs are unlikely to cause a reaction.

If you have celiac or another serious gluten problem, you might want to think twice about using this brand simply because it is not certified gluten free.

If you have a serious gluten allergy, we recommend selecting hot dogs from the list above instead of Wikinger Hot Dogs. It’s better to be safe than sorry.

Read also: Who Makes Kirkland Hot Dogs? (Beef, Ingredients)


Unfortunately, it can be a bit tough to say whether or not Wikinger Hot Dogs are gluten free. Based solely on the ingredients list, their hot dogs do not contain any known gluten ingredients, though they do not give details about the spices within the hot dogs.

Even if Wikinger Hot Dogs do not contain any gluten ingredients, it’s unclear if the company fights against gluten contamination.

For people with celiac or other serious gluten allergies, gluten contamination is just as dangerous as gluten being outright in the hot dogs.

For this reason, we recommend expressing caution before purchasing these hot dogs.

The good news is that there are tons of certified gluten free hot dog brands available. Some of our favorites include Hebrew National, Bar-S, and Nathan’s Famous, but there are plenty of other brands you can check out that are gluten free and equally delicious.

Here are some of my favorite services, products, and Stores

There are affiliate links, so if you do decide to use any of them, I´ll earn a small commission. But in all honesty, these are the exact what I use and recommend to everyone, even my own family.

To see all my of most up-to-date recommendations, check out this resource that I made for you!



Lindsey graduated with an MBA in 2009. Since then, Lindsey has worked in the retail and consumer service industry as a manager, advisor, and marketer. Lindsey is also the head writer and Co-founder of Lindsey is based in Morgantown, West Virginia.

Recent Posts

error: Content is protected !!