Are Herbalife Protein Bars Gluten-Free? (Best Tips!)

Are Herbalife Protein Bars Gluten-Free

Do you know if Herbalife protein bars are Gluten-free? this is one of the questions our readers ask a lot. Well, we´ve got you covered.

Herbalife protein bars are a tasty snack perfect for whenever you need a quick jolt of protein and energy.

They’re chalked full of vitamins B1, B2, B6, and E, as well as 10 grams of essential proteins to help you build muscle and recover after strenuous exercise.

So, are Herbalife protein bars gluten-free? Yes, Herbalife protein bars are completely gluten-free. They are made from a mix of almond, puffed rice, and chocolate, along with natural caramels, creams, and lemon, peanut, or vanilla flavors. If you are gluten intolerant, you can still enjoy these treats.

Let’s explore what goes into Herbalife protein bars and why you should be careful to check the ingredients on all of your pre-or post-workout snacks.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a catch-all term for a family of proteins commonly found in cereal grains. When bakers mix these proteins with water and knead them into a dough, the gluten structures help provide support and act as a binder to hold the baked goods together.

Without gluten, bread and pastries struggle to hold their shape and come out tacky and hard.

While not all baked goods have gluten, the majority of store-bought bread, cakes, or snacks are made using one of these gluten-rich grains:

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye

This, unfortunately, means that gluten intolerant people struggle to find delicious baked snacks.

Click the link to Amazon and get the Best Herbalife Gluten-Free Protein Bars

What is Gluten Intolerance

In the most basic of terms, gluten intolerance is when you feel sick after eating foods with gluten in them. Imagine the same thing as lactose intolerance but with gluten.

In fact, many of the symptoms are the same:

  • Sudden bloating and gas
  • Bouts of constipation and diarrhea
  • Abdominal pain
  • Irritable bowel syndrome

Researchers still aren’t certain what causes gluten intolerance but there are a few hypotheses that could explain the sudden illness.

It could be a similar mechanism to lactose intolerance—that the body lacks a certain enzyme that breaks down gluten.

Another hypothesis is that it’s not really the gluten that’s causing a reaction but a type of carbohydrate commonly found in tandem with gluten.

If the body cannot break down this carbohydrate, it would end up stuck in the digestive system, eventually fermenting, and causing digestive problems.

Whatever the cause, though, gluten intolerant people often feel the effects of their disease hours or even days after ingesting gluten.

Do All Grains Have Gluten?

Grains make up a vital part of nearly all humans’ diets. It would seem nearly impossible to live without them so are there any grains that don’t have gluten? Fortunately, yes!

Some of the world’s most commonly consumed grains are completely gluten-free, meaning you don’t have to live without carbs if you suffer from gluten intolerance.

The following grains are completely gluten-free:

  • Rice
  • Corn
  • Flax
  • Millet
  • Soy

Whenever you next go shopping, be sure to keep an eye out for gluten-free products. They will most likely be made with one or a combination of these grains or grain substitutes.

Soy, corn, and rice are the backbones of most gluten-free bars and baked goods. Best of all, they are often rich in protein too!

How to Tell if a Protein Bar is Gluten Free

As of yet, there are no regulations requiring manufacturers to label their goods “gluten-free”. Therefore, you won’t be able to easily tell if your protein bars are ok to eat.

Instead, you’ll need to check the ingredients on the back of the box. Unfortunately, though, there could be gluten hidden in places you wouldn’t even think to look.

These ingredients could contain trace amounts of gluten:

  • Vegetable proteins (often made with wheat)
  • Modified starches (often made with wheat)
  • Artificial and natural flavorings (often made with barley)
  • Dextrin and maltodextrin (often made with wheat)

Additionally, manufacturers sometimes use the scientific names for grains which you might overlook while checking the nutritional facts. Keep an eye out for the following ingredients:

  • Triticum vulgare (common wheat)
  • Triticum spelta (spelt flour)
  • Triticale (a wheat and rye crossbreed)
  • Hordeum vulgare (barley)
  • Secale cereale (rye)

All of these ingredients are rich in gluten and will trigger your intolerance.

Read also: Are Kirkland Protein Bars Healthy (Ingredients, Bad or Good)

What are Herbalife Protein Bars Made From?

If you don’t have time to pour through the ingredient lists for every protein bar in the store, grab a box of Herbalife protein bars.

They are completely gluten-free and provide a punch of 10g of protein.

Herbalife uses a combination of almond paste and rice to craft their bars, meaning you don’t have to worry about secret doses of rye, wheat, or barley.

Best of all, they come in three delicious flavors—vanilla almond, chocolate peanut, and citrus lemon.

Click the link to Amazon and get Gluten-Free Protein Bars

The Bottom Line

Finding delicious, healthy, and gluten-free protein bars shouldn’t be so difficult. Luckily, Herbalife offers three different delectable protein bars made entirely without gluten.

Skip the ingredient lists and start enjoying your pre-or post-workout snack today!

Here are some of my favorite services, products, and Stores

There are affiliate links, so if you do decide to use any of them, I´ll earn a small commission. But in all honesty, these are the exact what I use and recommend to everyone, even my own family.

To see all my of most up-to-date recommendations, check out this resource that I made for you!



Lindsey graduated with an MBA in 2009. Since then, Lindsey has worked in the retail and consumer service industry as a manager, advisor, and marketer. Lindsey is also the head writer and Co-founder of Lindsey is based in Morgantown, West Virginia.

Recent Posts

error: Content is protected !!