Do you know if Heath bars are Kosher? Well, you are at the perfect place to find the answer to such a question.
Heath bars are some of Hershey’s most popular chocolate delights. They’re also on Hershey’s extensive list of kosher products offered. Heath bars are made with all kosher ingredients, so those who follow the Jewish dietary laws are free to enjoy these crunchy chocolate treats.
Kosher foods aren’t difficult to find, you just have to know where to look. The Hershey company has nearly 700 products on its website that fall under the kosher category.
So, if you’re looking for kosher treats, look no further than Hershey’s Heath bars. Keep reading to find out more about the kosher ingredients in delicious Heath bars.
Table of Contents
Are Heath Bars Kosher?
Heath bars are kosher. They’re made by the Hershey company which has enlisted the help of the Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregation, or OU, to formulate candies that are kosher certified. Hershey has worked side-by-side with OU to secure the right equipment, adopt the appropriate processes, and use the right ingredients to produce kosher results.
Heath bars are Milk Chocolate English Toffee Candy Bars. They have crunchy, buttery English toffee inside which is covered in a layer of sweet milk chocolate.
What Does It Mean to Be Kosher?
Kosher food stems from the Jewish dietary laws. These are rules governing what foods are allowed for consumption for those people who practice the Jewish religion.
Contrary to popular belief, the word kosher does not mean healthy. It isn’t a reach, however, to see where that association came from.
Kosher foods are often made with raw ingredients. There are also rules about processing that often result in healthier foods.
Generally, kosher foods are less processed and cleaner. The ingredients are more pure. That doesn’t always mean kosher foods are healthy, though.
What’s In a Heath Bar?
Heath Bars are mostly made of milk chocolate, sugar, vegetable oil, almonds, and dairy butter. These ingredients aren’t always considered kosher. Hershey uses kosher versions of these ingredients to ensure the end result is kosher.
For example, let’s talk about the almonds. The almonds are kosher in this case because they’re left in their raw state. If the almonds were roasted with oil and salt, they would no longer be kosher due to the processing.
Another example can be made with the dairy butter. If the butter were made with milk from an animal that’s not kosher, the butter would not be considered kosher either.
However, Hershey uses only dairy butter made from kosher animals.
What Animals Produce Kosher Food?
Meat is one of the food categories under kosher rules. Meat that comes from animals with split hooves is kosher. There are other rules that apply to the way you cook or eat the meat, too though. For instance, if you cook beef with cream or cheese, it’s no longer kosher. Meat cannot be cooked with dairy, nor eaten with dairy.
Dairy that comes from kosher animals is also kosher. If you have a goat you get milk from, that milk is kosher. Goats have split hooves, thus goat meat and dairy are kosher.
Is Sugar Kosher?
Sugar is typically considered kosher. The only time it wouldn’t qualify for kosher certification is specific instances where a starch is used in the formulation.
Granulated sugar doesn’t have any type of grain starch in it. However, powdered or confectioners’ sugar often has starch in it as a filler.
That’s something to look out for when you’re baking or looking at ingredients lists.
Are There Different Varieties of Heath Bars?
The Hershey Company has been around for more than a century. Anyone who’s tried one of the many varieties of Hershey bars can likely tell you why.
The company started with one original version of the Hershey’s milk chocolate bar back in 1900. It has since exploded into a multi-billion dollar global mecha company offering a variety of candy to please each individual’s taste preference.
Heath bars come in different sizes but also in different kinds of treats. If you haven’t tried them yet, keep your eyes open for the Heath Colliders.
These are scoopable desserts. They come in packs of two cups filled with something similar to vanilla pudding that you sprinkle the Heath crumbled topping all over.
Beyond the Heath candy bars, you’ll also find Heath Milk Chocolate English Toffee Bits that are more like nuggets.
You can also buy the Heath Ice Cream Shell Topping to pour over your favorite flavor of ice cream.
Is Ice Cream Kosher?
Ice cream can be kosher but isn’t always. Ice cream made in its purest form is kosher. All you need is fresh cream, fruit or other natural flavoring, and sugar to make ice cream.
If you look at an ingredients list for ice cream in the freezer at your local grocery store, though, you’re sure to see other words that are hard to pronounce.
Hershey’s also makes some ice creams. They make them with kosher ingredients. Look for ice cream made with pure ingredients and stamped with the kosher certification indicator.
Hershey’s Heath bars are kosher treats that are certified by the OU. You can choose any of the Heath varieties and take peace in knowing they’re made with kosher ingredients that fit this dietary lifestyle.
Hershey works closely with the OU to ensure they offer true kosher products that people can trust.
If you’re looking for a kosher sweet treat, browse the nearly 700 kosher products on the Hershey website.
Do you know if Granola bars are Kosher for Passover? Well, you are at the perfect place to find the answer to such a question. Granola bars are quick and easy to grab snacks for those on the go,...
Have you ever asked yourself or your friend are Fiber One Bars Kosher? Look no more. We´ve got you covered. So, are Fiber One Bars Kosher? No, all Fiber One Bars are not Kosher. They used to all...