Are Clif Bars Kosher? (Here Is Why…)

are clif bars kosher

Do you know if Clif bars are Kosher for Passover? Well, you are at the perfect place to find the answer to such a question.

If you are a fan of the popular healthy snack Clif Bar, you probably already know that they are full of nutritional support, vitamins, and wholesome ingredients that are fantastic for your body. A frequently asked question many customers tend to ask about these bars is, “are Clif Bars Kosher?

Not all Clif products are Kosher. However, there are many Clif bar options you can choose from in-store and online that are Kosher certified and come in great flavors with quality ingredients. 

If you are a fan of Clif Bars and interested in more information regarding their ingredients and which products, in particular, are Kosher, keep reading this article where we will discuss everything there is to know about what is in a Clif bar and what diets they cater to.

Are Clif Bars Kosher?

There is a long list of Kosher-friendly Clif Bars on the market today with healthy, quality, and Halah-approved ingredients, making these a great snack or meal replacement during Passover or at any time during the day when you are too busy to stop for a meal or cook up something healthy.

While there are way too many Clif Bars that are listed as Kosher, we will give you a sneak peek at some options you have available to you and your strict diet.

  • Peanut Butter Banana: Dark Chocolate Flavor
  • Sierra Trail Mix
  • Sweet and Salty: Chocolate Chunk with Sea Salt Flavor
  • Cool Mint Chocolate
  • Coconut Chocolate Chip
  • Chocolate Brownie
  • Blueberry Almond Crisp

The list above is only a handful of the amazing options that are labeled Kosher-friendly. 

Read also: Are Granola Bars Kosher for Passover? (Oats + Ingredients)

What Other Clif Products are Considered Kosher?

Clif doesn’t only make Kosher Clif Bars but a long list of Kosher-approved products. These products include but may not be limited to,

  • Shot Energy Gels (In a massive variety of flavors)
  • Drink Mixes
  • Thins
  • Builders
  • Nut Butter Bars
  • Duos
  • Cereals
  • Z bars
  • Zbar Protein
  • Luna Bars

This company also produces a great list of Kosher options for kids with their Clif Bar Kids line. Here you can find an assortment of flavors that your children will love, and you can feel comfortable giving them to them.

How Can You Tell Which Clif Bars Are Kosher?

Clif makes it easy to determine which of their products are Kosher and which ones are not. The company is very transparent when it comes to providing information regarding the ingredients of its snacks to its customers. 

While you can always read the labels, a quicker way to determine what Clif bars are Kosher, you can easily log onto their website, click on the “dietary considerations link,” then choose the “Kosher” from the drop-down list. 

Once this is done, you will have a very long list of products made from Kosher-friendly ingredients. 

If you are interested in finding Clif Bars that are okay for other dietary restrictions, you can also choose to see a list of bars that are low glycemic, have added caffeine, and/or are gluten-free. 

Are Clif Bars Vegan?

Incredibly enough, most Clif Bar options do fit within a plant-based diet and are made from quality-source, nutritious ingredients that do not contain animal-based products.

According to the Clif Bar website, there are currently a few Clif products that you should steer clear of while following a vegan diet.

  • Clif Whey Protein
  • LUNA Protein
  • Zbar Protein
  • CLIF Recovery Protein Drink Mix 

(The products above contain protein from milk)

  •  Bar Peanut Butter; Honey w/ Sea Salt ( this product contains honey)

The product above contains honey, which many people who stick to a vegan diet believe is not something you can indulge in, while others think it is okay.

Read also: Are Heath Bars Kosher? (Here Is Why…)

What Ingredients Can Be Found in Clif Bars?

Clif Bars are designed with athletes in mind and are full of ingredients that are good for your body and will fuel you through your day. All of these products are plant-based and come from fruits, oats, dates, seeds, etc. 

The Clif company has a large group of experts who come up with fantastic recipes that mix together a group of foods that will provide their customers with snacks they can feel good about.

some of the main ingredients you will typically see in Clif Bars includes:

  • Whole grains
  • Dried Fruit
  • Soy
  • Peas
  • Nuts
  • Nut Butters
  • Spices
  • Seasonings 
  • Cocoa

Some ingredients you can feel comfortable with knowing you will never find in any Cliff or Luna products include:

  • GMOs (Genetically modified Ingredients)
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Synthetic colors or flavors
  • High-intensity sweeteners

This information leads us to believe that not only are Clif Bars okay to eat for anyone looking for a Kosher snack, but they are good for just about anyone looking for a healthy snack. 

Are Clif Bars Gluten-Free?

Not all Clif Bars are gluten-free. However, the company does make a line of products that are okay for people with gluten sensitivities, and you can find the entire list of them under the “Gluten-Free” bars and snacks tab, listen on the home page of the Clif Bar website. 

It is important to note that not all gluten-free products are kosher and vice-versa.

Summing Things Up

If you follow a Kosher diet and have been looking for a healthy snack to enjoy, the Clif company has many different products to choose from, full of delicious ingredients that taste great.

The best part is that you can also buy Kosher-friendly products for your kids, which are just as amazing. 



Lindsey graduated with an MBA in 2009. Since then, Lindsey has worked in the retail and consumer service industry as a manager, advisor, and marketer. Lindsey is also the head writer and Co-founder of Lindsey is based in Morgantown, West Virginia.

Recent Posts

error: Content is protected !!