Have you ever wondered how to get a title for a camper without a title in Michigan? Well, look no more. We´ve got you covered.
If you plan on hauling a camper, though, it is important to make sure it is road legal. Nothing ruins a vacation like traffic tickets!
So, how to get a title for a camper without a title in Michigan? In Michigan, to get a title for a camper without a title, you need to do the following:
– Go to the Secretary of State branch office and process a replacement title application.
– Request a replacement title online.
– To fill out a title application for a camper trailer, you will need:
• Your current driver’s license
• Your title application
• The bill of sale proving that you purchased the camper
• Any information on the lien of the camper that you have
• The type of trailer (5th wheel, camper trailer, etc.)
• The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
• The length of the trailer
• The height of the trailer
• The weight of the trailer
What is a Vehicle Title?
The title for a vehicle is a document that designates ownership. It is usually issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles in the state where the vehicle was purchased.
Titles include information like the owner’s name, the year of the car or trailer, the model of the vehicle, the license plate number, and the history of the vehicle.
Read also: How to Sell an RV Without a Title (Explained)
What Types of Vehicle Titles are There?
Car titles can be “branded” in four different categories. Those categories include Clean, Clear, Salvage, and Rebuilt or Reconstructed.
These categories establish the history of the car in terms of previous totaling accidents and financial liens.
- Clean Title: The car has not been totaled. It is structurally sound and not needing any major repairs.
- Clear Title: There are no liens or other debts against the car.
- Salvage: The vehicle is damaged or totaled in a “total loss.” Vehicles with salvage titles may be difficult to insure.
- Rebuilt or Reconstructed: A salvaged car has been rebuilt, repaired, or reconstructed enough to be safe on the road.
Read also: Where to Find VIN Number on Camper and Trailer? | Detailed Guide
Do Camper Trailers need Titles in Michigan?
According to the laws in Michigan state, all trailer coaches need to be registered and have titles.
Michigan State has a strict set of rules about which vehicles need to be titled and which vehicles do not. In general, it is safe to assume that every car, truck, or trailer needs to be titled, as there are fewer exceptions to remember.
If you are wondering which vehicles do not need a title, here is a list of some of the only vehicles in Michigan that do not need to be titled and registered:
- Farm tractors and farming equipment (this does not include vehicles like farm trucks or trailers that are driven on the road between destinations).
- Vehicles registered in another state for 90 days. After 90 days, residents of Michigan need to title and register their vehicles within the state.
- A trailer weighing less than 2,500 pounds. These trailers will not need titles, but they will need to still be registered with the state. This exemption does not include camper trailers. All trailer coaches still need both titles and registers.
- A vehicle seeking a weight receipt, physical inspection from law enforcement, or a salvage recertification inspection. In this case, the vehicle must be driven in a direct route using the shortest route possible. Do not make stops along the way while driving an unregistered or untitled vehicle.
- Moped scooters do not need to be titled. However, they must be registered with the state of Michigan.
How to Get a Replacement Camper Title in Michigan?
There are several reasons that the title for a camper may have been lost. The paperwork may have been damaged or destroyed during a move, flood, or fire. The title paperwork may not have been transferred during a sale.
The camper could also be salvaged or built from scratch. In all of those cases, there would be no title for a camper.
Missing Camper Title
In Michigan, a missing camper title is relatively easy to replace. The state will already have records for the title, and they can issue you a replacement.
Remember, though, this is only for cases where you own the camper already and the title is lost. If the title is lost during a sale, the process is more complicated.
There are two options for replacing a missing camper title in Michigan.
1. Go to the Secretary of State branch office and process a replacement title application. The owner listed on the title must go. You will need identification. There is an available Appointment of Agent form that would allow someone to sign in place of the listed owner. The replacement takes approximately 14 days to process and arrive.
2. Request a replacement title online. This option saves you the need to go into an office. You will need to use the Michigan ExpressSOS website.
Both of these options cost $15. If you need the title replacement on the same day, there is an additional $5 fee, and you must go in-person to a branch.
No Title During Purchase
A rarer circumstance for a missing title in Michigan is if the tile has been lost or never created and then the camper trailer is sold from a private party.
All dealers in Michigan must have titles before they can sell vehicles, so if you are purchasing from an RV dealership, the title should be included.
Most of the time, if the trailer does not have a title when you purchase it, it is because it was located in a state that did not require titling or registering of trailers.
This can also happen if you move with a trailer to Michigan.
In this case, your best course of action is to fill out a title application and take it to the local Secretary of State branch near you.
Title Application Items
If for whatever reason, you need a new title for a camper trailer, you will need to fill out a title application. These are available online or at the Michigan Secretary of State office.
You will need to have information on-hand to fill out this form, though, if you go in person.
To fill out a title application for a camper trailer, you will need:
- The type of trailer (5th wheel, camper trailer, etc.)
- The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
- The length of the trailer
- The height of the trailer
- The weight of the trailer
- The name, date of birth, address, and Social Security Number (SSN) of the owner (likely you)
- Lien information, if there is a lien against the trailer
- The brand of the trailer
- The model of the trailer
- The year of manufacturing for the trailer
- The camper’s current license plate number
Do not guess on any of this information when you bring the application to the Secretary of State office. If you are unsure, leave it blank or find a way to get a solid answer.
For example, you can find a weigh station that will let you weigh your camper if you do not know the weight.
When you go to the Secretary of State office, you will also want to make sure you have all of the proper documents to keep the process streamlined. Do not forget:
- Your current driver’s license
- Your title application
- The bill of sale proving that you purchased the camper
- Any information on the lien of the camper that you have
Do Camper Trailers Need License Plates in Michigan?
Yes, camper trailers need license plates in Michigan. All trailers need to be titled and registered with the state of Michigan.
Exceptions exist for titles but not for registering. When you register your camper trailer, you can obtain a license plate for it.
If you ever plan on driving your camper trailer on the road, you will legally need a license plate for it. There are also several safety requirements you must meet before towing a camper trailer. The trailer must have:
- Working taillights (at least one)
- A light illuminating the license plate
- Mudflaps on the rear wheels
- Turn signals
- Brake lights
- Reflectors for the sides and/or rear of the vehicle (there are different specifications for this based on the weight of the trailer)
When registering your trailer in Michigan, you will need the empty weight of the vehicle. This is likely listed on the bill of sale or the certificate from the manufacturer that came with the trailer.
If, however, you bought your trailer used, you may not have that information. There are certified scales available in Michigan at truck stops, scrap recyclers, junkyards, and more. Take the trailer there to obtain the weight.
There are exceptions to the licensing rules that allow you to legally drive to a weigh station to weigh your trailer without a license. Just be sure to take a direct, short route to get there.
When you register your trailer, you can purchase license plates for it. The license plates will be valid until the trailer transfers ownership again.
Camper trailers weighing under 2,500 pounds will only cost 75 dollars to license.
Camper trailers weighing under 10,000 pounds will cost 200 dollars to register. Campers weighing over 10,000 pounds (many fifth-wheel campers weigh this much) will cost 300 dollars to register.
Read also: What Can I Tow With 2,000 lbs Capacity? (With 6 Examples)
Obtaining a title for a trailer that does not currently have one is necessary, but easy in Michigan.
You will simply need to fill out an application with the Secretary of State’s office and prove your current ownership through a bill of sale or other documents.
While doing this, you can also register your camper and get it licensed for the road. It may take around 2 weeks to obtain a title if you have lost yours, so plan ahead!
Have you ever wondered how to sell an RV without a title? Well, look no more. We´ve got you covered. While Recreational Vehicles (RVs) are perfect for revolutionizing travel, if you are done with...
Buying a Camper Without a Title in Texas: 6 Facts You Should Know (Explained)
Have you ever wondered how to buy a camper without a title in Texas? Well, look no more. We´ve got you covered. Recreational vehicles (RVs) and camper trailers are perfect for those looking for a...