Do you know if Quest protein bars are vegan? this is one of the questions our readers ask a lot. Well, we´ve got you covered.
While strength training and bulking up on protein, you may want to try one of the many protein bars on the market.
However, if you have certain dietary restrictions to follow, you should be wary of protein bar labels that could reveal downsides.
This much is true for those who wish to try the ever-so-popular protein bars made by the brand Quest.
Customers have often wondered as to the ingredients of these bars. So, are Quest protein bars vegan?
Well, the short answer is no, Quest protein bars are not vegan. Their makeup consists of several proteins derived from animal byproducts. The ultimate reason that Quest cannot stamp the vegan label on their protein bars is that they contain both whey protein and milk protein isolate as ingredients. Quest even states clearly on their website’s FAQ page that their protein bars are not vegan.
Therefore, vegan eaters wishing to increase their healthy protein intake may need to consult other protein bars on the market.
In this article, we’ll discuss the reasons that Quest protein bars are not truly vegan, including the animal byproducts used in them.
We’ll also discuss some healthy vegan alternatives when it comes to protein bars on the market.
Why Quest Protein Bars Are Not Vegan
When we shop for healthy foods, it can be deceptively easy to think we are automatically picking up a wholly organic or plant-based product.
However, the reality proves further from this idea since a lot of health food products contain some hidden animal byproduct ingredients.
Their reasoning? They claim that their ultimate goal is to make the “best tasting” healthy products. Now, whether or not vegans would agree that animal products are a necessity to achieve the best tasting product is up for debate.
Neither of these ingredients used by Quest – whey and milk protein isolate – is vegan-friendly since they both come from dairy at the end of the day.
Below, let’s take a look at what exactly these ingredients consist of and how that deems them non-vegan.
Click the link to Amazon and get the BEST Vegan Protein bars Today!
What Is Whey Protein?
Whey protein is a popular animal byproduct used in many protein drink powders, protein bars, and other products targeted towards “bulking up”.
The intention of using whey protein is to increase the growth of lean muscle mass. Hence the reason that products like Muscle Milk contain whey products.
Whey is actually one of the two proteins that dairy milk has in it; the other protein is casein.
Whey protein contains all nine essential amino acids, and it consists of bovine serum albumin, immunoglobulins, and a few other long-winded names.
If that first name sounds non-vegan (how could it not with “bovine” in the name?), then that’s because it is non-vegan.
Read also: Are One Protein Bars Vegan? (Best Tips!)
What Is Milk Protein Isolate?
Milk protein isolate – the other animal product included in Quest protein bars – is a byproduct made from skim milk specifically.
Unlike whey protein, though, milk protein isolate contains both casein and whey proteins.
This powder is around 90% protein, and it does little to change the taste of a protein bar, so you can begin to see why companies like Quest use it.
Vegan-Friendly Alternatives to Quest Protein Bars
While Quest insists on using these dairy-based proteins to make their protein bars taste better, you might not realize just how many other options you have.
Many brands and retailers are now producing totally vegan protein bars for those who want to bulk up or just get a little more protein in their vegan diet.
PETA actually includes several approved vegan protein bar options on their main website.
The article proves that there are plenty of vegan-friendly protein bar alternatives to the popular Quest option, which is not vegan.
A lot of the Clif Bar flavors you commonly find at grocery stores are actually vegan. They don’t include animal products.
However, you should be careful since the brand has a disclaimer on their product that they might have trace amounts of dairy in them from their production facilities.
Probars are another plant-based protein bar option on the market. They typically contain around 10 g of protein and are non-GMO as well.
NuGo is another healthy vegan protein bar alternative to Quest. They sell chocolate and peanut butter bars for fans of sweets and a plant-based way to get up to 16 g of protein.
Customers on the hunt for a healthy vegan protein bar need to look elsewhere if they have their sights set on Quest protein bars.
Although Quest bars are healthy and ample sources of protein, they contain animal byproducts, thus making them non-vegan.
Avoid the whey protein and milk protein isolate ingredients by trying one of several valid alternatives for vegans. Brands like NuGo, PROBAR MEAL, and Clif Bar all produce healthy vegan protein bars.
Read also: Are Quest Protein Bars Gluten-Free?
Here are some of my favorite services, products, and Stores
There are affiliate links, so if you do decide to use any of them, I´ll earn a small commission. But in all honesty, these are the exact what I use and recommend to everyone, even my own family.
To see all my of most up-to-date recommendations, check out this resource that I made for you!
+ Products & Services
+ Convenience Stores
+ Save Thousands of Dollars
Do you know if ONE protein bars are vegan? this is one of the questions our readers ask a lot. Well, we´ve got you covered. Looking for healthy, vegan protein bars that will help make you feel...
Do you know if Quest protein bars are Gluten-free or do Quest bars have gluten? this is one of the questions our readers ask a lot. Well, we´ve got you covered. Good nutrition and a...