Did you ever need to know if TVs are street legal in Utah? Well, you can stop looking, because you have found the place with all of the answers.
In Utah, it is legal to operate an ATV on all streets and highways if it is properly registered and the rider has a proper driver’s license, insurance, and safety gear. But, certain exceptions exist, and ATVs are not allowed on some roads.
In this state, ATVs must conform to regulations and requirements very similar to those for motorcycles. But with some additions. So let’s see everything you need to know before setting off on an ATV adventure in Utah.
Table of Contents
Are ATVs street legal in Utah?
Yes, for all intents and purposes ATVs are street legal in Utah like any other vehicle. Among the streets, roads, and highways, there are two exemptions where you are not allowed to ride an ATV.
First are all roads that are part of the interstate highway system.
The second exemption is highways in the first-class counties that satisfy two conditions:
- it is near a grade-separated portion of a highway,
- and it has posted speed limit of 50mph or more.
When riding on a highway, you must obey the posted speed limit or general ATV speed limit of 50mph, whichever is lower.
In case you are on a highway with a posted speed limit higher than 50mph, you must ride on the far right side of the highway and also have a reflector or reflective tape both on the front and back of the vehicle.
The Utah Statutes define first-class counties as those with a population of more than one million. And currently, that is only Salt Lake County.
For an ATV to be street-legal and allowed on roads in Utah, it must have:
- one or more headlights,
- one or more taillights,
- registration plate lights, if taillights do not illuminate them,
- one or more brake lights,
- amber or red turn signals,
- brakes capable of stoping it within 40 feet when braking from 20mph,
- a horn,
- muffler and emission control device,
- rearview mirrors on both sides,
- a windshield, unless the operator has goggles,
- illuminated speedometer,
In case a vehicle doesn’t conform to the above requirements from the manufacturer, it can be modified. The vehicle also must be registered and insured, and the rider must have a proper driver’s license. Out-of-state ATV registrations are valid in Utah.
Can I ride an ATV on public lands in Utah?
Except on the public streets, in Utah, you can ride an ATV on many public lands, roads, and trails if they are permitted and signs are posted on them.
State agencies have the right to designate public lands that are in their jurisdiction as permitted. And such permitted areas and trails exist in state parks and forests.
Local municipalities and other political divisions of government have per state law a right to designate roads and trails for unlimited use by ATVs, for limited use, or to prohibit them. But, they can’t prohibit or instate limited use by ATVs on roads and trails that are allowed for all other motor vehicles.
This means that local municipalities are only allowed to designate permitted trails that are otherwise prohibited for vehicles.
Another case where ATVs are allowed on public lands is the snowmobile trails. ATVs are allowed on them only if they have a gross weight under 800 pounds.
Can I ride an ATV on private lands in Utah?
You are allowed to operate an ATV on private land. And if the vehicle is used only on private property, it does not have to be street legal or satisfy all requirements of street legality.
On private properties, the only limit is permission from the owner.
Do I have to register or title an ATV in Utah?
Titling and registering an ATV are requirements for it to be street legal and allowed on roads and highways.
Titling is done at the same time when it is being initially registered, and it requires that you submit the completed form TC-656. For the initial registration, you will also need:
- proof of ownership – a title or Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin,
- bill of sale
- certificate from the county assessor showing that property taxes have been paid for the vehicle,
- past registration card, if the vehicle was previously registered by another owner,
- an age-based fee between $4 and $38, depending on its age,
- $46 registration fee.
Registration is valid for a year and must be renewed 60 days before its expiration.
Do I need a driver’s license to operate an ATV in Utah?
Yes, a driver’s license is required for operating ATVs on public highways. If a person younger than 18 is an operator, they are allowed on public highways only under the supervision of an adult.
For riding on public lands and roads and trails that are exclusively permitted for ATVs, underage riders are allowed with an OHV education certificate or driver’s license. If they only have an OHV certificate, they must be supervised by an adult.
Are helmets mandatory in Utah?
Helmets and goggles are mandatory in Utah for anyone that is younger than 21, while as passengers all persons under age must wear them too.
Are ATVs street legal in Utah? Yes, they are, if they are registered, insured, and the rider has a driver’s license.
Then you are allowed to drive them on the public streets and roads, and public lands too. But, per letter of the law, some highways in Salt Lake County are not permitted for ATV traffic.
Have you ever wondered are ATVs Street legal in Maryland? Well, look no more, because we have all the answers about ATV and OHV street legality in Maryland and where you can ride them. All...
Have you ever wondered if you can sleep at rest stops in Utah? Look no more. We´ve got you covered. If you love your states that have seemingly zero rules about how long you can stay at a rest...