Is Lindt Chocolate Gluten Free? (Read This First Before…)


Is Lindt Chocolate gluten free

Do you know if Lindt chocolate is gluten free? Well, you are at the perfect place to find the answer to such a question.

If you have a severe gluten intolerance, you’ll want to know what snacks are safe for you to eat. While chocolate is gluten-free, many chocolate desserts and snacks contain additives that have gluten. Barley products are prevalent in chocolates.

The Truth is, most Lindt Lindor chocolates are not gluten-free since they contain barley powder or cereals, depending on the flavor. Most aren’t safe for those with intolerances, so you should avoid this brand. However, you can find a few Lindt chocolate like “Oat Milk Chocolate Bar”, “White Chocolate Lindor Truffles” and “Lindt Swiss Excellence White Chocolate” that are.

That said, there’s always the risk of cross-contamination since these products come from manufacturers that use gluten in their other goods.

There’s much more to learn about Lindt chocolates and gluten, so keep reading.

Why Isn’t Lindt Chocolate Gluten-Free?

Many people need clarification when they discover that Lindt’s Lindor chocolates and truffles aren’t gluten-free. Pure chocolate doesn’t contain gluten ingredients, so what’s happening?

Lindt, like many other chocolate brands, adds more ingredients to the chocolate. Some of these aren’t gluten-safe foods.

For instance, Lindt says that many of their gourmet chocolate truffles contain cereal, which adds a “crunch” to the treat. Plus, they use barley products in the chocolate.

Barley isn’t a gluten-free ingredient since it’s a type of grain. In fact, those with celiac disease respond negatively to these grains: barley, rye, and wheat.

If you have a gluten intolerance, you’re sure to react if you eat something that contains one of those grains.

Most Lindt chocolates contain either barley or cereal, which you can’t eat if you’re on a gluten-free diet.

Are There Gluten-Free Lindt Products?

Lindt lists their gluten-free products in their online store. Some of these products include their Oat Milk Chocolate Bar, White Chocolate Lindor Truffles, and their Hot Chocolate Mix.

These chocolates taste great, and don’t use any cereal or barley in the recipe. You should still check the ingredients list first.

No matter what chocolates you buy, you’ll need to make sure that you always check the ingredients list first. You might be surprised at what brands use gluten ingredients in their chocolates! So, you should keep an eye out to be safe.

In short, you can find several gluten-free items on Lindt’s website. However, since they use gluten ingredients in many of their products, most people with celiac disease prefer to avoid buying this brand’s chocolates.

What Lindt Products Use Cereal?

Some of Lindt’s chocolates use cereal as an ingredient to make their flavors more fun. For example, the company makes Crispy Cereal Batons, which are very crunchy.

Lindt also makes chocolate-covered crispy cereal balls. Of course, neither of these chocolates would be alright for someone who can’t have gluten to eat.

If you’re looking at buying a package of Lindt chocolates at the store, you’ll want to make sure you look over the packaging very carefully.

You shouldn’t buy it if it mentions cereal anywhere. Most of their products that feature the words “crunch” or “crispy” use this ingredient to give the chocolate that texture.

Overall, several Lindt chocolates use cereal as an ingredient. If you have a gluten intolerance, you’ll want to steer clear of these snacks.

The cereal usually consists of wheat or wheat products, which aren’t safe for you to eat. Some cereals can also use barley.

What Lindt Products Use Barley?

Most Lindt chocolates use barley or barley powders in their recipes. You’d have an easier time finding what products don’t use this ingredient.

You can find barley in various Lindt cereals that are in the chocolates. However, it can also go into the chocolate directly as a powder.

The company might also use other forms of barley, such as malt, as they mention that they use a “barley component” on their website.

Some Lindt products might have a gluten-free label even though they contain barley products since the amount used in the recipe is under 20 mg. According to the Lindt FAQ page, they can label these products as being gluten-free since it’s such a small amount.

So, even if you’re buying from their gluten-free product page, you’ll still need to check the ingredient list.

Still, Lindt makes some products that don’t use barley or wheat. For example, the 70% to 99% cocoa chocolates from their EXCELLENCE line don’t use any barley.

Very few Lindt chocolates don’t use barley products, so those with sensitivities need to be careful when buying chocolate from this brand.

Is All Chocolate Gluten-Free?

Not all chocolate that you buy in the store is gluten-free. Most companies add various grains to their recipes. Even if you can’t eat gluten, you can still enjoy pure white, milk, and dark chocolates.

Even some chocolates that claim to be gluten-free might contain minimal amounts of the ingredient. Plus, the company that makes them may also produce other chocolates that contain gluten, making cross-contamination likely.

In short, those with celiac disease need to be very careful when buying chocolates. Some brands offer gluten-free chocolates, so you’ll want to research any brand you’re interested in before purchasing.

Read also > > Is Lindt Chocolate Halal? (Here Is The Truth!)

Read also >> Is Dark Chocolate Low Fodmap (IBS, Lindt, Hershey, Dove, Cocoa Powder)

Final Thoughts

To summarize, Lindt chocolates are not gluten-free! Many of their chocolate recipes use barley or cereal, which can contain different grains.

It would help if you took care when ordering from Lindt because some of their products have gluten-free labels, but they still include tiny amounts of grain.

There are still some gluten-free options from Lindt. Still, most people with sensitivities prefer to buy their chocolate from other brands because it’s safer for them.

Reference

https://www.lindt.co.uk/

Lindsey

Lindsey graduated with an MBA in 2009. Since then, Lindsey has worked in the retail and consumer service industry as a manager, advisor, and marketer. Lindsey is also the head writer and Co-founder of Rvandplaya.com. Lindsey is based in Morgantown, West Virginia.

Recent Posts

error: Content is protected !!
SAVE 25% AT JAMES ALLEN