Is Jungle Oats Gluten-free? (Benefits, Healthy)


Is Jungle Oats Gluten-free

Have you ever asked yourself or your friend if Jungle Oats are gluten free? Well, you are at the perfect place to find the answer to such a question.

More and more people are susceptible to gluten and are in search of foods that are considered gluten-free.

Breakfast cereals and grains are often found to contain gluten making finding an alternative breakfast difficult.

Those on a gluten-free diet should avoid products with wheat, rye, and barley. But is that enough? Even foods without those ingredients are often labeled as “may contain gluten”. 

So, is Jungle Oats gluten free? Yes, Jungle oats is gluten free. Jungle Oats are made using 100% whole grain oats and are not made using any type of wheat, barley, or rye which are the most common ingredients found to contain gluten. Although the ingredients do not include wheat, an allergen warning is present for gluten on the packaging of every Jungle Oats product. This warning is likely due to the high-contamination rate of grains. 

So, should people who are sensitive to gluten steer clear of Jungle Oats altogether? According to the labeling and allergy warning, yes.

However, according to the ingredients list, there are no ingredients (wheat, barley, rye) that contain gluten. Let’s delve a little deeper and discover the truth behind Jungle Oats. 

The Jungle Oats product and Tiger Brand 

Jungle Oats are the favorite breakfast oats of South Africa offered by Tiger Brand, which was originally called Tiger Oats.

Tiger Brand’s first product was Jungle Oats and the company recently celebrated their 100th year in operation in 2021.

Besides the Jungle Oats product, Tiger Brand offers a range of products including instant oats, muesli, porridge oats, to a range of flavored oat products and snack bars. 

While Jungle Oats are predominantly sold in South Africa and throughout greater Africa, online stores have expanded and allowed customers in the US to purchase Jungle Oats online. 

What is gluten?

Gluten is the name for the proteins found in wheat, rye, barley, and some other hybrid cereals made from grains.

Gluten acts as a glue in many foods and holds foods together or keeps foods in shape.

Gluten is very common in many of the processed foods and beverages we love, however, many people are gluten-intolerant and require a gluten-free diet. 

It may seem difficult to remove gluten from your diet, but there are many foods that naturally do not contain any gluten.

Fresh ingredients such as fruit, vegetables, dairy, fish, meat, and poultry are all gluten-free. 

When considering processed or packaged goods for a gluten-free diet, there are some key labels to look out for.

Always check the allergy warning section of any food (found on the nutrition facts label).

Any food that’s come into contact with food containing gluten, must present a gluten warning and should definitely be avoided if you’re highly allergic to gluten. 

Are Jungle Oats healthy?

Jungle Oats products offer an impressive range of health benefits that are directly linked to wholegrain oats. Oats provide a sustained release (low GI) of energy and are also high in fiber which helps aid digestion throughout the day.

Wholegrain oats are also excellent at maintaining blood sugar levels which have been linked to reducing the risk of developing cardiovascular disease.

Wholegrain oats also contain beta-glucan fiber which studies have linked to reducing blood cholesterol levels and the risk of heart disease, especially when 3 grams of fiber or more is consumed daily. 

Oats on their own are naturally sodium-free and are low in fats, with very small amounts of saturated fats. 

Jungle Oats Benefits

One of jungle oats benefits is that Oats contain the most soluble fiber compared to any other grain.

Wholegrain oats (like those used in Jungle Oats) are packed with antioxidants which have a whole host of health benefits just on their own.

Jungle Oats nutrition facts

The best way to validate marketing claims on any food product is to check the nutrition facts label.

This label will show you exactly what ingredients are used to make the products, as well as important information on the nutritional value of the product. 

Serving Size 100 grams
Energy1584 kj (379 kcal)
Protein13.1 grams
Carbohydrates57 grams
Sugar1.5 grams
Fat7.9 grams
Saturated Fats1.6 grams
Fiber11.6 grams
Sodium19 mg

Are all oats gluten-free?

Yes, all pure oats are considered gluten-free according to the U. S. Food and Drug Administration (USFDA) which has ranked them as gluten-free grains under its gluten-free labeling regulations. 

While experts and food scientists sometimes disagree with oats being technically 100% gluten-free, the USFDA requires packaged oats as an ingredient to contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten overall. 

Processing of foods also plays an important role here, as processed oats are often a combination of different grains, and cross-contamination between gluten-containing grains is common in most cereal manufacturing.

This is why so many companies (Tiger Brand included) often list allergen warnings for ingredients that do not feature in their products. 

How to check what oats are gluten-free

The best way to check what oats are 100% gluten-free is to check the labeling. While oats themselves do not contain gluten, they often have cross-contact with grains or cereals that contain gluten during manufacturing.

Oats are often grown side-by-side with wheat, barley, or rye, and all of these products must be labeled with allergenic warnings for those who suffer from gluten intolerance (known as Celiac disease).

Oats offer some excellent health benefits for those on a gluten-free diet, however, before adding oats to your diet, always consult your physician or local dietician and discuss monitoring of your anti-tissue transglutaminase (anti-tTG) antibody levels.

Summary

Jungle Oats are an excellent start to the day for most people, and while there are no active ingredients that contain gluten, it’s likely some cross-contamination with food containing gluten may have occurred during the farming or manufacturing of the oats.

For this reason, Jungle Oats may not be suitable for those with gluten sensitivity. It’s always worth consulting your dietician for advice on maintaining a healthy and gluten-free diet.


Here are some of my favorite services, products, and Stores

There are affiliate links, so if you do decide to use any of them, I´ll earn a small commission. But in all honesty, these are the exact what I use and recommend to everyone, even my own family.

To see all my of most up-to-date recommendations, check out this resource that I made for you!

References

https://auberginefoods.com/

Lindsey

Lindsey graduated with an MBA in 2009. Since then, Lindsey has worked in the retail and consumer service industry as a manager, advisor, and marketer. Lindsey is also the head writer and Co-founder of Rvandplaya.com. Lindsey is based in Morgantown, West Virginia.

Recent Posts

error: Content is protected !!
SAVE 25% AT JAMES ALLEN